Warrior Wednesday: Septima Clark

A while back I posted about reading Freedom’s Teacher and writing about it. Yes, I know empty promises (so far). I picked up that book again today and started outlining and rereading. The first reading of a book for me only gives an introduction. I get really caught up in the story and need to know how it all turns out. A 2nd reading will give me more depth. And so my 2nd reading begins. In a search for Septima I found this gem of a blog post over at self-rescuing princess society and quote that I happen to LOVE, you’ll see why (emphasis mine):

I have a great belief in the fact that whenever there is chaos, it creates wonderful thinking. I consider chaos a gift.

-Septima Poinsette Clark

 

From pg2. Introduction

Four decades of teaching and civic organizing shaped how she percieved the fundamental problems confronting the southern black community, including the need for better schools, better health care, better job opportunities and wages, and increased voter participation–particularly among black women–in local, state, and federal affairs.

It seems like someone could have written this today. Communities face different problems in scope but they remain at the core.

The book goes on to say that she developed the foundation for the civil rights movement, her teachers trained more than twenty five thousand people, who were often active participants in SLCS’s campaigns.

If you didn’t have time to sign up for Melissa Harris Perry’s Nerland Scholar Challenge you can see links to all the articles of interest.

Just reading the articles and what MHP has posted made me aware of just how white the suffragists were.

Leave a Reply

