STY: Book Switch- Freedom’s Teacher

Saturday Thank YouIn honor of the Labor Movement “The folks who brought you The Weekend!”

I read several chapters into The Woman Behind The New Deal and had to return it. In reading that book I realized I’m more of a “boots on the ground” organizer, like Frances Perkins was early on in her career. And that probably has more to do with my need for movement and a variety of different activities. So, I have switched books. I’ve only just begun this book but I find myself needing to go back and reread because I can’t believe the history I’m seeing repeat; and it’s good to know that “The Women’s Liberation Movement” was alive and well prior to the Civil Rights movement—we just don’t get to hear about it unless we seek it out. I plan on posting more about what I am reading next week.

chaotic note

I’ve got a great story for Warrior Wednesday inspired by Kiddo–who asked where are the women warriors. Thank You Master Ray for telling the story about why most men would choose to fight other men and not women who were defending their children and home. <Ohh wee! when my kitchen gets messed up after I worked so hard to clean it–watch out>

Great story about Reclaiming Our History and Finding the real Rebel Helen Keller

2 Responses to STY: Book Switch- Freedom’s Teacher

  1. […] I repeated a story I’d heard in Karate (chaotic note in this entry), kiddo asked me, “Where are the women warriors?”. Promptly, I found a blog entry about […]

    Like

  2. […] while back I posted about reading Freedom’s Teacher and writing about it. Yes, I know empty promises (so far). I picked up that book again today and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

