Chaotic Happenings

What have I been up to? Well it’s been so long I forgot I even started a post but for your general enjoyment (or not) here is the post I wrote about the holidays……

The Holidays

I’ve noticed the wall of yuck has descended upon me. I felt kind of like this blob but without the pink, yeah my blob was definitely all black.

This is where I have so many negative thoughts it could render me unable to move if I am not careful. So, to fight it I’ve been doing fine motor activities. Scattermom says they activate a different part of your brain. And a different part of my brain needs to be activated. I’ve been sewing and crocheting. Also, kiddo and I are loving to play with clay. Recognizing and using the power I have is profoundly more difficult than complaining about the power I don’t have.

After the holidays I made myself a cozy spot and am still getting ready to transform, just like ‘Big Guy’!

Kiddo and I are housing and feeding several caterpillars because we like them and we hope to watch Big Guy’s chrysalis making and emergence as a butterfly. I was talking about after he/she emerged we would need to let the butterfly go and I went on (and on) explaining about when she grew up…..as a beautiful butterfly, she would want to leave. It’s the kind thing to do to let them go and make their own life. She promptly stated emphatically “That’s not REAL mommy.”

I’ve discovered that my chrysalis includes meditation, karate, and women centered activisim. MomsrisingNC and World Karate Do helped me put together a wonderful program that was held last month. I’m planning on doing some more activisim with MomsRisingNC and doing a little of my own educational activisim here soon.

This summer I will take Literacy for Photography and I think it will rock my world as a writer! Looking forward to some great things. I’m continuing on my mindfulness journey with karate and hope that a Green Belt is on my horizon. Really I am loving the Blue Belt katas and self-defenses!

I’m trying to keep this post in the positive but there are some disturbing things happening out there……the continuation of the Mommy Wars (shame on you Time Magazine), just makes me sick. And the debacle of Amendment One here in NC. Really, I hope it sparks some great networking and projects in NC’s future. I plan to keep pursuing connections with some great activists in the Raleigh-Durham area.

Taking this quote from my pastor’s facebook feed

“Do not depend on the hope of results…you may have to face the fact that your work will be apparently worthless and even achieve no result at all, if not perhaps results opposite to what you expect. As you get used to this idea, you start more and more to concentrate not on the results, but on the value, the rightness, the truth of the work itself…You gradually struggle less and less for an idea and more and more for specific people…In the end, it is the reality of personal relationship that saves everything.” ~quotation from Thomas Merton

Leave a Reply

