Buckets

Our family enjoyed A Guide to Daily Happiness for Kids. (picture above) It was a useful reminder to the whole family that we must build each other up or “fill buckets” because that is part of the changes we’d like see in our society.Ā  I made up a bedtime story that mentioned buckets and I explained the Occupy Movement in terms she would understand. I mentioned this to one protester and she suggested that I write it. I added it to my list.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Daisy Deadhead suggested that I do a piece like hers on ‘the voices in my head or my spiritual side’, so I did. She called hers Deity Meeting Part 1. Here it is, entirely unedited.

Spiritual Chaos

Setting:

Main Characters:
Mary- Mother of Jesus
Gaia
Mary Magdalene (MM)
Thomas (Doubting)
Wisdom(spirit of Jesus, shethelor)
Buddah
Rose Winslow

Minor Character(s):

Grizzy The Ferret
Ripple Blanket/Rug

Buddah: Please everyone get a cushion from the corner and gather in a circle around the rug. (the crowd settles in) Let us open this meeting with ten full breaths of meditation.

Thomas: But Buddah we are missing Gaia.

Buddah: Shall we meditate until she arrives and then take our ten breaths.

Rose: That would be a good idea.

Buddah: Everyone get comfortable.

MM: Gaia is always late.

Blessed Mother: She is a busy Goddess, please have some patience.

Thomas: We could be meditating for a half hour.

Blessed Mother: Thomas, she said Grizzy had a cold so she would be running a bit behind.

Thomas: I wish she would leave those horrid creatures behind.

Buddah: Looks at Thomas gently and shushes him quietly.
Thomas reluctantly closes his eyes with a sigh.

Fifteen minutes pass and Gaia enters.

Buddah’s eyes open and he welcomes her to the meeting and invites her for one minute of meditation.

The group hears a small jingling bell.

Thomas: (Mumbling) ……you didn’t bring one of those stinky ferrets again did you?

Rose and the blessed mother shift in their seats. After a minute Buddah thanks everyone for their meditation. Gaia opens the meeting. Grizzy jumps in her lap with a jingle.

Gaia: Today we are meeting to discuss demands. It has been brought to our attention that these are not working. We must go about things in a more gentle fashion.

MM: That must be why she is reading Verbal Judo. So far the plan is working. I say we keep up the good work.

Thomas: I disagree, I think we need to take a hard line with demands and put them in writing before this meeting is over.

Grizzy The Ferret: (Runs right over to Thomas and jumps on his foot, nosing it)Ā  Put a sock in it Thomas or I’ll bite your ankle!

Blessed Mother: Grizzy that’s not appropriate. One more outburst like that and you are banned from eating rasins for eternity.

Grizzy The Ferret whimpers and jingle noises are heard all the way to Gaia’s lap.

Rose: We are a leaderful and nonviolent movement. We have to give J time to reread and outline Verbal Judo in order for it to be more effective. Thomas, look at this as an exercise in patience.

Thomas gets up and paces the room while mumbling and making hand gestures.

Rose: Blessed Mother, will you give us an update on the controversial Holiday Plans?

Blessed Mother: So far the kiddo’s birthday was good. It was low key and she complained a little about the lack of a large crowd but a good time was had. For a bonus there was a kitty cake. And going to the cousins house for a sleepover and Thanksgiving Dinner was an appropriate addition for the birthday. Kiddo has requested a big Christmas tree.

Thomas interrupts: This is where we need to take a hard line. We should and will have a Christmas tree.

Gaia: Everyone knows how I feel about cutting down a tree and sticking it indoors to die a slow death. I’d like to see if we could get a larger live tree we could plant somewhere after the holidays.

Wisdom: It is MY supposed birthday, as well as Winter Solstice. I think I should be able to decide. This matter needs to be tabled until the next meeting. Can we agree on that much?

“Yes” is heard all around the circle.

Wisdom: Blessed Mother please continue with your update.

Blessed Mother: The loft bed may be delayed until after Christmas due to the 6 to 8 weeks of shipping time. What about the addition of the slide?

Thomas: We can’t do anything until we get the bed but the slide looks like it might be a go. There’s a definite fun factor with an indoor slide. Kiddo should be excited. She will forget about the Holiday nonsense if she gets a slide. Temperature check on the indoor slide.

All fingers in the circle are wiggling in up position.

Thomas: Great! Meeting adjourned….

Buddah: Wait a minute. Let us pause and each find something to be grateful for.

MM: Please don’t make us share it this time. Remember what happened last time?

Gaia: We can do an optional share. Except for Grizzy the Ferret. He needs to share something he is grateful for.

Grizzy The Ferret: I’m thankful that for all eternity I have the freedom to talk and go wherever I wish. I don’t need no stinking cage!

Gaia: Wonderful Grizzy! I’m thankful that J got so excited about Toilet Paper being 40% post consumer recyclable paper! And for the years J did not cut a tree down for the holidays.

Buddah: Anyone else? Rose?

Rose: I’m thankful that J is studying to go back to school and/ or work.

Buddah: May we all discover and appreciate the opportunities we have!

3 Responses to Buckets

  1. Stephanie says:

    I like it! If I might offer two unsolicited observations. Because you know that’s how I roll.

    We do a real tree here, because the other version is plastic and made in china. We do get one from a local farmer, because if I’m going to flush income, I’d like it to be a donation to agriculture at least.

    For me, it’s redefining MY reason for the season, which includes our ancestoral history– they needed the fresh trees to kill the smell in a northern europe house in December, KWIM? Not to mention the depression from the gray of winter.

    My reasons are defined. I decorate because Santa makes me happy, a fresh tree full of mismatched/handmade ornaments makes me happy. An inflatable Santa in the front yard makes me nauseous. But it’s defined. I think you need to define it and tell everyone who disagrees/questions you to eff off. :).

    Want to turn not having a tree into something positive? Take the money the tree would cost, and adopt a family for the holidays, and have the kiddo go with you to make the purchases. Or find other ways to decorate that she can help with. Or not.

    But don’t waffle, don’t feel guilty or pressured. If you don’t want “it” than own that. Like me and the circus. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. THIS IS SO AWESOME, I feel like I am peering into your Self. (we hardly ever get to do that)

    Ferrets are such pleasant little fellas. šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. TIME TO UPDATE, Ms Chaos! Never go a whole month, then going two months is easier…

    Like

Leave a Reply

