FTY: Rachel Carson

I had never heard of Rachel Carson until I was at the NCRA convention. The interactive read aloud seminar contained excerpts of a book about Rachel Carson.

I am not surprised that I’ve never heard of heard of her. As an American woman I know I am woefully ignorant of women in history.

From PBS Bill Moyers Journal. A conversation with Rachel Carson  part 1.


I love the title “A Sense of Wonder”. Working with young children and seeing their sense of wonder in discovering things that are now mundane to me is what keeps me coming back to helping kids. That last moment where those neurons connect for the very first time electrifies me.

chaotic note

Sites I like:

Silent Spring Institute

You can take the self-compassion quiz/ scale yourself. My scores were uh, revealing to say the least. I’ll share mine later if there are others willing to share as well.

Leave a Reply

