NCRA Conference Highlights

The sessions at NCRA with the children’s book authors really took the cake for me.  I bought a Skippy Jon Jones puppet to take home with me.

Lester Laminack’s speech was delivered after play-acting of The Wizard of Oz.

TOWARD A NEW VISION FOR OUR CHILDREN AND THEIR SCHOOLS: I HAVE A DREAM…
[Delivered first in May 2008]
<–click on this link for the whole speech and scroll down until you see the title

I dream of schools where children know they are cherished and trusted, where they feel safe to risk being wrong in order to learn lessons more important than arriving at the right answer

Will you join me? Will you stand up for the children of this nation? Will you take a stand on the issues that matter most to the preservation of their one, precious childhood.

I came home feeling like there was a message that he couldn’t say, yet he did so well with re-telling The Wizard of Oz. I did some searching and there seems to be layers of meaning to the famous story, as with all stories I suppose. At this point I am not sure what the author meant by writing it.

Mike Artell was also a featured speaker. I regret now I didn’t go to his seminar on how to draw stick figures for teachers. I suppose I can always request his books from the library. He’s also got a music cd out: Calling All Children to the Mardi Gras

I also heard Kathleen Krull and Paul Brewer speak. And bonus Paul Brewer talked about having ADD. 🙂 And Kathleen just one a huge award from the Children’s Book Guild of D.C.

He and Kathleen just published Fartiste…..

I tell you, we are here on Earth to fart around,
and don’t let anybody tell you different.

Kurt Vonnegut
One day a baker with butter and yeast,


And the next—voila! –he was JOE, the Fartiste.
The Fartiste doesn’t sing, he doesn’t dance, and he doesn’t act. But that doesn’t stop him from taking the stage at Paris’s famed Moulin Rouge, where he performs his much-loved act for celebrities and royalty with the funniest talent of all – Joe is the man who has perfected the art of the fart. Kathleen Krull and Paul Brewer bring new wind to their mostly true story about “the man who made his pants dance,” which is perfectly matched with Boris Kulikov’s explosive art.

Leave a Reply

