Making Room for Happiness and Hippopotamuses

Being the Observer

I’m always in a rush to do something or anxious I’ve forgotten or will forget. This noggin o’ mine is great for the breathing and general sensing but when it comes to sorting it all out and sequencing, It defaults to cutting off sometimes mid-task. It also allows me to forget that student x had a really bad attitude towards me yesterday, therefore we start fresh again today. Or as I focus on my breath I can (not) listen to the obscenely obnoxious whining that is emanating from my daughter while acknowledging her pain.

General Hippopotamuses and what I’ve been up to lately

I acted boldly, I made business cards for myself! Well, there’s also the back where I chose to put information about momsrising.org and momsrising NC. I’ve been noticing its hard for me to do anything for just me. Like I’m not worthy of something for me only. I present…..the back of my business card!

And the front with some info blotted out.

chaotic note

An organization I like Southern Human Rights Organizers Network

Questions to ponder, one from Season Mine Well

A woman has got to be able to say, and not feel guilty, ‘Who am I, and what do I want out of life?’ She mustn’t feel selfish and neurotic if she wants goals of her own, outside of husband and children.” ~Betty Friedan

How do I best take care of me and my daughter and not succumb to the violence of this world?

Link from Daisy Deadhead Open Left’s Sort of Goodbye

From Simply the Worst: Maureen Dowd @ The NY TImes–Rumsfeld had Classified emails declassified due to the release of his book Known and Unknown.

Our knowledge of the Iraqi nuclear weapons program is based largely — perhaps 90% — on analysis of imprecise intelligence.”On biological weapons: “We cannot confirm the identity of any Iraqi facilities that produce, test, fill, or store biological weapons,” the report said, adding: “We believe Iraq has 7 mobile BW agent production plants but cannot locate them … our knowledge of how and where they are produced is probably up to 90% incomplete.”

On chemical weapons: “We cannot confirm the identity of any Iraqi sites that produce final chemical agent.” And on ballistic missile programs they had “little missile-specific data.”

Unbelievable. Red Hippos/ Elephants in the room…anyone? Bueller.

2 Responses to Making Room for Happiness and Hippopotamuses

  1. Stephanie says:

    I really, really do not like Friedan. I can appreciate why she did/wrote what she did, but she left so many women out of the movement. The same women, incidentally, who are kind of out of the movement still.

    ‘Course, unlike Steinham, she at least had children.

    I heard this lady talking on NPR one night and pulled the car over to email myself her name– Stephanie Koontz. She seemed to nail how I feel about motherhood/feminism, etc. Can’t remember exactly what she said right now, though, of course. 😀

    Like the business cards, BTW! 🙂

    Like

  2. chaos says:

    just after a brief googling- she really kicks some butt…must go read some of her stuff

    Like

Leave a Reply

