Distopia, Dystopia…I told u edumacation sux

As I was walking out of my local library I saw the following cover:

It sucked me in literally. The color contrast drew my eye and then there it was GENDER & JIM CROW. One thing I kinda know about Gender, being female kinda helps that. But Jim Crow, I don’t know. I need to make friends with North Carolina’s History now that this is my home state, which I don’t see changing in the near future. Of course my interest in social justice movements, and history also are part of why I want to get to know NC better, too.

I skipped over the Table of Contents and read through some blurbs through the book. And then I started reading again this evening from a different point. <When History Slammed me in the face.> As a transplant from Upstate NY I thought Blacks in the south were never able to exercise voting rights after the civil war up until the 1960’s. But that turns out to be untrue. According to the book pictured above some blacks were serving in the NC Legislature. <see George H. White an African American who served in the NC state legislature starting in 1885!> He also served in the 55th and 56th Congress! <see quote below>

Upon election to the 56th Congress (1899–1901), Congressman White’s second term focused on anti-lynching legislation. He introduced a bill to make lynching a federal crime, subjecting those who participated in lynch mob violence with possible capital punishment. Some saw the measure as radical. The bill died in committee. Nearing the turn of the century, many parts of the American South began to pass Jim Crow legislation designed to disenfranchise black voters and eliminate black government officials. White became the primary target of white supremacist politicians who feared African-American political influence.

Except, laws shortly there after took away his right to vote…”…. in 1899, the North Carolina General Assembly followed the trend among neighboring states and enacted new registration laws to restrict black voters.” (from that same site/article quoted above: The African-American Political Phoenix in North Carolina)

Also see NC History Project: Fusion Politics

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Racial repression around the turn of 1900’s did not institutionalize the prevailing trend in race relations; rather it profoundly reordered society. (from the introduction p.xx of Gender and Jim Crow)

Wow, just wow…..This happened right here, in the state I currently call home. I’m not trying to get all negative on my home state. I realize I know didley about Southern History. And well that commerical…..

The More You Know

Why do I continue to be shocked by my countries actions both past and present? Ok, I’m off to ask the Michigander/ Kryten if he remembers this from history class…

Leave a Reply

