FTY: MomsRising NC

Thanks Felicia and Beth!

I wanted to blog about this a week ago but didn’t. A few years ago I relentlessly posted about momsrising on a local message board for ‘mommies’ and on craigslist. <I did have one person respond about how moms need to step up and quit their high paying jobs to stay home and care for their kids and send their husbands off to work.>I collected emails of about six people and showed MomsRising’s Documentary (see below) at Felicia’s house.  Felicia and Beth came along with their mad organizing skillz to rescue me and took action! < Beth recently had a letter on preserving high quality childcare published in the News and Observer!> These ladies and a few others have been planning great things for momsrising NC. They have gotten a grant and are planning to lobby the nc legislature. Hopefully this year I will be able to be more involved.

I have been getting around more with my gps, which means less blogging. 😉

chaotic notes

Book of Interest:

Hands on the Freedom Plow: Personal Accounts by Women in SNCC

5 Responses to FTY: MomsRising NC

  1. Stephanie says:

    Love the idea/message of Momsrising. Can barely get myself to and from preschool pick ups on time. Part of me doesn’t want anyone to truly know how flaky I actually am. Stupid ADHD.

    Like

  2. chaos says:

    I totally hear you on this. That is why I jumped at the chance to send S to preschool only 5 min from here. Now I pay for it by missing my favorite bad a$$ mamas. I am going to NC women united’s wake county agenda meeting if it kills me.

    Like

  3. Norene Marta says:

    Good website! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well composed. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post was been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which really should work! Have a nice day!

    Like

  4. Felicia says:

    No, thank YOU! Thanks for spreading the word and thanks for coming to the steering committee meeting. We need more moms involved (even the ‘flaky’ ones, Stephanie).

    Like

Leave a Reply

