(re)Enter TeacherLand

Dream Deferred by Langston Hughes.

What happens to a dream deferred?
Does it dry up
Like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore–
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over–
like a syrupy sweet?
Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.
Or does it explode?

Really, being not-so good at organizing and structuring time has been rough for these four glorious years of my daughter’s early childhood. Being Add-ish i think makes it worse on a Mom who works in the home. Add in how my prematurity has my brain wired even more funny and ugh.  I didn’t realize it until this morning. I’ve had structure for the last two days and it felt wonderful. I feel like I’ve been catapulted into a new wonderfully organized world. Things make sense again.

<look at the butterfly!>And I’ve neglected my blog for a bit of Real Life!

Originally I dreamed of being a Teacher, your run of the mill Elementary School Teacher. Like my heroine Mother Jones. Then I took the required math and…..Fell.On.My.Face. Next, I changed my major because statistics seemed more do-able than base-10 base-4, etc.

~ADD’ed the rest of being an undergraduate. My grades fluctuated with the season I believe. I always started out strong in the fall after loving the summer sun (ok that’s an exaggeration). Then I did more falling.on.my. face in the winter-spring semester.

Learning Math is a huge stumbling block for me. I had an almost panic attack the other day trying to fill out Kiddo’s RegisteredTrademark College Savings Plan- there are FORTY pages of information.

That’s ok because I have my friends and family to help me through this. I am one grateful mama right now for so many reasons! And I found some structure….

Leave a Reply

