Reflection on Teaching and Inequality

I’ve been working with kids in some capacity since I was a senior in high school. I don’t want to count the years. In that time I’ve discovered I like working with parents and kids to develop language and literacy. Books hooked me a long time ago and I’ve never been the same. I would like more kids to have this experience.

Mr. Proust here has got some good advice. How do I see what I have done in the past or might do in the future ‘with new eyes’? <Huh Marcel?> I can’t let ADHD and the second shift cloud this new vision. I’m getting better at negotiating things at home but there is still a long way to go.  I can’t be waiting for the perfect time.

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes. ~Marcel Proust

Wisbit for the day

Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.

So, what makes me come alive? Sometimes I feel like the canned beauty queen answer….<insert high pitched voice here> I like children and animals.
<Ewww…> I’d like to be given the respect that any professional who has been their field for 10+ years would be given.
I’m going to end with this great quote from a friend of a friend and now my friend on facebook.
Men and women were created differently, with different traits, strengths and weaknesses- both are guilty of using their strengths against the other’s weaknesses. When people seek equality, they are not looking for sameness- they are merely asking for respect and to be treated fairly in any given circumstance.

by Jode Kechego

Leave a Reply

