Thinking Timer

This is our “thinking timer”. I got it as a free prize in a Chick Fl A meal. It lasts for 30 seconds. I set this for Moshie when she is asked to make a choice. In the morning I usually ask if she wants a veggie burger or an egg. I tell her to think about it and even if she thinks she’s made a decision I will even set it just so she can make sure that is what she wants.

Kryten and I have a bit of a disagreement on the issue of changing our mind or if it is acceptable to let your kid change his/ her mind. I implemented the “thinking timer” to avoid some of the changing mind syndrome and it has worked! But I think it is totally acceptable for a kid to change his/her mind. It can be a useful skill in fact, especially when it is an incident with an adult. I was reading, in Protecting the Gift: Keeping Children and Teenagers Safe (and Parents Sane), about how this particular skill can save your kid from abuse. I need to remember to tell Kryten about this.

In light of Scattermom’s post Timers Not Just for Kids I think I should implement this thinking timer for myself.

Leave a comment