Mid-Leap Hairball

I’ve written two letters over the past few days that scare the heck out of me. It was good but it induced a little eye twitching. I need to get less serious.

Things are great with TechHuz or Kryten whatever you prefer. It still is a toss up between Kryten or Rimmer for him. I think he likes Kryten (picture <——to the left)better so I will go with that.

Here’s a little bit of background on Red Dwarf (where I stole Kryten) from Wikipedia.

Red Dwarf is primarily a character-driven comedy, with off-the-wall, often scatological science fiction elements used as complementary plot devices. In the early episodes, a recurring source of comedy was the “Odd Couple“-style relationship between the two central characters of the show, who have an intense dislike for each other but are trapped together deep in space. The main characters are Dave Lister, the last known human alive, and Arnold Rimmer, a hologram of Lister’s dead bunkmate. The other regular characters are Cat, a lifeform that evolved from the descendants of Lister’s pregnant pet cat, Frankenstein; Holly, Red Dwarf’s computer; as of Series III, Kryten, a service mechanoid; and, as of Series VII, Kristine Kochanski, an alternative-reality version of Lister’s long-lost love.

…(Lister) He was the lowest-ranking crew member on the ship before the accident and has a long-standing desire to return to Earth and start a farm on Fiji (which is under three feet of water following a volcanic eruption), but is left impossibly far away by the accident that renders him the last surviving member of the human race. He deeply enjoys Indian food, especially chicken vindaloo, which is a recurring theme in the series.

To be fair I am a combination of Lister and Cat. I will go with the cat since I like him better. I like this version of the cat and The Padre is cool:

Cat’s mirror opposite is also encountered in the mirror universe (Series VIII episode “Only the Good…“), a wise professor who finds it ridiculously easy to pronounce profoundly long words, e.g., Caesiumfrankolithicmixialubidiumrixidixidoxidexidroxide. This version of The Cat is more intelligent than both the original Cat and Duane Dibbley. In ‘Ace’ Rimmer’s universe (series IV episode “Dimension Jump) the West Indian priest stationed on the Mimas test flight base bears a striking resemblance to Cat. The Padre smokes a pipe and congratulates Ace Rimmer on helping a sick boy recover.

I digress.

Here’s a mini summary/paraphrasing of what I am trying to apply from the book pictured to the left. I think this will cover only the first two chapters.

Feed the wolf (cat-haha) of patience and courage by slowing down, pausing, and giving yourself and others space. This gives our brain time to utilize our natural intelligence, warmth, and openness which all of us possess. I can insert the questions “why do I want to do this?” and “will I feel better after?” If I am doing something because I believe it will bring me relief from suffering, well this may be an illusion.

Rushing through things may mean that I don’t want to be fully present.  In that case it might be good to explore “why don’t I want to be fully present?”.

I find it interesting that I can be like Lister and Cat as well as have a chunk of The Church Lady. Oh, the awareness I am cultivating! So, to conclude I’ll be starting with The Church of Trope and making my own sci-fi religion that involves pipe smoking ferrets.

2 Responses to Mid-Leap Hairball

  1. Buddhaghosa says:

    Thanks for sharing, nice words.

    Like

  2. […] read and re-read parts of Taking the Leap by Pema Chodron. Seems like every page I open to is a lesson I need engraved upon my inner eyelids. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

