Thank You Fridays: Mother’s and Mother Jones

I realized looking back on last weeks post that I forgot to send a Thank You to my mom and grandma. Somehow dad got mentioned but not mom. That’s got to change right now! Mom and all the ladies that were mothers to me in some sense of the word this is for you. Your work lives on and your love is given to the next generation. Mothering is important work. I’m showing and telling my daughter that Mommy does work too, here at home. This is the only way we will get the next generation to notice the unpaid work that women do.  One mother stands out as a friend to the worker and this Thank You is for her also.

Mother Jones

“Often while sewing for the lords and barons who lived in magnificent houses on the Lake Shore Drive, I would look out of the plate glass windows and see the poor, shivering wretches, jobless and hungry, walking alongside the frozen lake front…. The contrast of their condition with that of the tropical comfort of the people for whom I sewed was painful to me. My employers seemed neither to notice nor to care.”

……… “Coming, as it did, on top of successive personal tragedies, the experience [with the Knights of Labor] forged an amalgam of compassion and fervor which would serve her well in industrial wars over the next half a century.” Wherever there were labor troubles, there was Mother Jones–the “Miners’ Angel.”

 

Have you heard the song “She’ll be coming around the mountain?” It’s rumored that she’s the lady coming around the mountain of which they speak.

Of course my favorite lines from the web page linked to in my heading are:

The elderly woman smoothed her black dress and touched the lace at her throat and wrists. Her snow-white hair was gathered into a knot at the nape of her neck, and a black hat, trimmed with lavender ribbons to lend a touch of color, shaded her finely wrinkled face. She was about five feet tall, but she exuded energy and enthusiasm. As she waited to speak, her bright blue eyes scanned the people grouped beyond the platform. Her kindly expression never altered as her voice broke over the audience: “I’m not a humanitarian,” she exclaimed. “I’m a hell-raiser.”

I think I’ve found another feminist icon to love and emulate.

Maybe some of our “Worker Unity” has also been lost to people being devoted to doing their own thing, making their ‘careers’ work. There’s just so much media out there it’s hard to turn it off, form your own opinions and act on them.

Random Music:  Mother Jones would be proud of LL 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

