Friday Thank You

Bad Women, Mothers, and Teachers Edition

Why not lump us all together? Next it will be nurses? Oh wait, isn’t this a theme for Halloween costumes too? Bad Women: Nurses, Teachers and Cops? Hmmmmm…….. And we dare to be taken seriously.

I think Kristen has a point here. (link below)there are many similarities between teaching and mothering. No room for mistakes, isolation, and not much support available.

From Good Teacher, Bad Teacher

Fortunately, not everybody expects perfection from mothers. Pediatrician Winnicot pioneered the concept of a “good enough” mother. She is an “ordinary devoted mother” who attends to their children most of the time, but she leaves them to fend for themselves sometimes. She might slip up and yell, but then she takes a step back and apologizes, and she tries to do it better next time. As it turns out, children actually benefit when mothers and fathers make mistakes, because they learn to rely on their own resources. They learn to cope in an imperfect world.

She goes on to say that its the same for teachers. When you start anything new there is a learning period.  What about the teacher being good enough? I guess that is not PC. It is Real.

But why are we second guessing seasoned teachers methods and giving them scripts to teach from? I know I personally felt I couldn’t try new methods because of the lesson format that was handed down to me. In a sense it stifled my own creative learning process as a teacher. There were still aspects of the lesson format I could be creative with. It was within such strict boundaries. It did make me wonder why did I have to go through all that formal and expensive schooling?

This “Bad Teacher” fought back, from Florida Teacher’s Essay Becomes Rally Cry for Respect

I went to school at one of the best universities in the country and completed undergraduate and graduate programs in Education. I am a master of my craft. I know what effective teaching entails, and I know how to manage the curriculum and needs of the diverse learners in my full inclusion classroom. I graduated at the top of my class and entered my first year of teaching confident and equipped to teach effectively. Sadly, I am now being micro-managed, with my instruction dictated to me. I am expected to mold “out-of-the-box” thinkers while I am forced to stay within the lines of the instructional plans mandated by policy-makers. I am told what I am to teach and when, regardless of the makeup of my students, by decision-makers far away from my classroom or even my school. The message comes in loud and clear that a group of people in business suits can more effectively determine how to provide exemplary instruction than I can. My expertise is waved away, disregarded, and overlooked. I am treated like a day-laborer, required to follow the steps mapped out for me, rather than blaze a trail that I deem more appropriate and effective for my students—students these decision-makers have never met.

I love the letter that Jamee Miller wrote. All of it.  I don’t know how long it will take for teachers to be able to blaze their own trail.  I imagine the more parents demand, and help create the change the faster it will happen.

In reading about Mother Jones I realized one thing. It was women who made the backbone of the labor movement.*** Women must be involved if any change is to take place in society. After all we are 50% of the population.

~~~~~

***

Autobiography of Mother Jones

1899 Arnot, Pensylvania coal mines

From that day on the women kept continual watch of the mines to see that the company did not bring in scabs. Every day women with brooms or mops in one hand and babies in the other arm wrapped in little blankets, went to the mines and watched that no one went in. And all night long they kept watch. They were heroic women. In the long years to come the nation will pay them high tribute for they were fighting for the advancement of a great country.

Bonus Link: Nurse Ratched’s Place where I found the following poster! And am swooning at her site as we speak!



One Response to Friday Thank You

  1. kristinking says:

    Big grin for the “Friday Thank You.” :)

    I agree, scripted teaching is a terrible concept. I’ve never suffered through it as a student, and my kids (kindergarten and first grade) haven’t either. Teachers, you ARE professionals, and you ROCK.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

